Awards 2017

We have an incredible community, and 2017 has seen a haul of many awards that we should all be proud of. Here are a selection of just some of the prestigious acknowledgments made this year. 1. Terry Hatch received an Order of Merit for his service to horticulture and conservation. He has worked on local projects including planting pohutukawa and […]

Local Legends – In Memoriam

We take a moment to remember some of the stalwarts of our local community that have passed away this year. 1.Don Glasgow ~ Passed away January 6 2017, aged 86. He helped lay the Franklin Trotting Club racetrack and later became a life member and patron. 2.Tokoroa (Toko) Te Waru Hikaka Pompey ~ passed away 9 February 2017. Toko, from […]

Get your nominations in

Nominations are now open for the 2018 Franklin Junior Sports Awards. Organised by the Counties Manukau Sports Foundation in association with the Franklin Local Board, the awards recognise outstanding talent in the community. Categories include; Under 19, Under 16 and Under 13 Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year, and Team of the Year. Youth that assist with optimising and supporting […]

Gold medals for Counties Special Olympians

Counties Manukau Special Olympics athletes arrived back in Auckland last weekend, after a long but exciting week participating in the National Summer Games in Wellington. This year, 19 athletes and seven management team attended the NSG, with athletes competing in basketball, ten pin bowling, swimming and table tennis. The Counties Bullets basketball team came away with a gold medal in […]

Counties Sevens top the table

Counties Manukau were crowned 2017 Northern Regional Sevens Men’s Champions at Memorial Park in Cambridge on Saturday 9 December. They won each of their games against Northland, Bay of Plenty, Auckland, North Harbour and Waikato. Caption: The winning Counties Manukau Sevens side.

Bowls Results December

WAIUKU On Tuesday 5 December, Waiuku Bowling Club held their ACT tournament. Here are the results: Ist; Dave Nganenko, Kathy Ferguson and Gloria Swain 2nd; Alan Ferguson, Jackie Greig and Rod Macgregor 3rd; Barry Williams, Kingston Hull and Lynda Macgregor. KARAKA The results of the 2 Open Tournaments held in December. The Noel Dunning Memorial Fours Trophy Day: Winning team: Gaylene […]

New name for Pukekohe stadium

The writing is on the wall so to speak, as locally owned and operated, Navigation Homes, are now the proud new naming sponsors for Counties Manukau Rugby. With the opportunity arising after loyal sponsor, ECOlight, decided that 2017 would be their final year as the stadium sponsor. The stadium in Pukekohe, for the next three years,  will be called Navigation […]

Category Pages are limited to 90 days. Please use the archive page or the search box to find older articles.