second steel memorial trophy for Liam Lawson

Liam Lawson was awarded the Steel Memorial Trophy for the second time at the MotorSport New Zealand Awards on Saturday 26 May 2018. The trophy has been around since 1983 and acknowledges the efforts of a junior driver (under 21) who competes at least a national level and displays dedication, skill and professionalism in their driving. Previous recipients of this trophy include Brendan Hartley, Mitch Evans, Brendon Leitch and Scott Dixon.

Liam said it meant a lot to be recognised in such a way, saying “A massive congratulations must also go out to Grant McDonald and Dennis Martin, founders of the SpeedSport Scholarship. They got me started in circuit racing and today Grant is still helping me immensely behind the scenes, I must say a massive thank you and well done! I wouldn’t be racing without you.”

Since you’re here… we have a small favour to ask. More and more people want the Post than ever but advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. And unlike many news organisations, we haven’t put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as open as we can. So you can see why we need to ask for your help. The Post’s independent, investigative journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce. With investigative reporting, we often don't know at the beginning how a story will unfold and how long it might take to uncover. This can mean it is costly – particularly as we often face legal threats that attempt to stop our reporting. But we remain committed to raising important questions and exposing wrongdoing. And we do it because we believe our perspective matters – because it might well be your perspective, too. If everyone who reads our reporting, who likes it, helps to support it, our future would be much more secure. For as little as NZ$5, you can support the Post – and it only takes a minute. Thank you. Support The Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *