Pukekohe Junior players recognised


Several of the players who were recognised at the annual Pukekohe East Indoor Bowls Club prizegiving. From left back, Michael McPartland, Brayden Riggs, Jordan Newton, Lochlan Newton, Carson Loveday. From left front, Hayley Milliner, Ruby Gribben, Philip Spring.

Pukekohe East Indoor Bowls Club held their annual prizegiving on Tuesday 17 October, with about 40 members present. Over the season the club would average between 30 to 35 members on a club night, with the oldest player 90 years old and the youngest being eight.

With six juniors also playing over the season, two picked up a few prizes on prizegiving night.
The club also has several members with disabilities, who also like to help the club where they can. They were acknowledged on the evening for their continued support over the season. Philip Spring and Michael McPartland were acknowledged for their continued assistance in coaching.
The prize winners for 2017 are as follows: Papesch Cup, Club Single Winner: Philip Spring. Runner Up: Jordan Newton; J.R. Malaomson Cup, Men’s Singles Winner: Philip Spring. Runner Up: Athol Golding; Madge Hinton Cup Ladies Singles Winner: Ellen Spring. Runner Up: May Masters; Junior Trophy Singles Winner: Brayden Riggs. Runner Up: Jordan Newton; Adamson Cup Pairs  Winner: Kevin Kemp and Brian Daniels. Runners Up: Jordan Newton and Yvonne Newton; Watt Cup Triples Winner: Norm Busing and Carson Loveday. Runners Up: Philip Spring, Murray McPartland and Yvonne Newton; Nina Brook Cup Mixed Fours Winner: Philip Spring,Lyall Agate, Mala Kumar and Margaret Harris. Runners Up: Athol Golding, Neil Hewitt, Rodney Drake, Ruby Gribben;
Woolsey Cup Club Fours Winner: Archie McPherson, Neil Hewitt and Brian Daniels. Runners Up: Kevin Kemp, Lynnette Hansen and Bob Irwin; John Casterton Trophy Most Improved Winner: Odette Strawbridge. Bert Jones Trophy First Year Player Winner: Rodney Drake; Raven Shield Winner: Joe Green. Raven Cup Runner Up: Archie McPherson; Michael McPartland Trophy Most Improved Junior Winner: Brayden Riggs.
Since you’re here… we have a small favour to ask. More and more people want the Post than ever but advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. And unlike many news organisations, we haven’t put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as open as we can. So you can see why we need to ask for your help. The Post’s independent, investigative journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce. With investigative reporting, we often don't know at the beginning how a story will unfold and how long it might take to uncover. This can mean it is costly – particularly as we often face legal threats that attempt to stop our reporting. But we remain committed to raising important questions and exposing wrongdoing. And we do it because we believe our perspective matters – because it might well be your perspective, too. If everyone who reads our reporting, who likes it, helps to support it, our future would be much more secure. For as little as NZ$5, you can support the Post – and it only takes a minute. Thank you. Support The Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *