Prizes galore at Waiau Pa indoor bowls club

The Waiau Pa Indoor Bowls Club enjoyed their annual prize giving recently at the Waiau Pa Hall. Present were about 20 members including Life Member Tom Boyd.
After three games of fun bowls, or Crazy Bowls as some called them, it was down to the serious business of Trophy awards presented by Club Chairman, Diana Hamer.
The awards were:-
Madsen Trophy                                    Jim Johnston
Madsen Trophy Aggregate                   Diana Hamer
Championship Fours                             Neville McSweeney
                                                            David Powell
                                                            Mick Almond
                                                            Laurie Pratt
Championship Triples                           Neville McSweeney
                                                            Max McClune
                                                            Steve Maher
Championship Pairs                              Royalene Barriball and Alois Schatzdorfer
Championship Singles               Royalene Barriball
Graded Singles Championship
Leads and seconds                               David Culbert
Thirds and Skips                                   Roy Monteith
Ladies Singles Championship                Lorna McClune
Mens     Singles Championship  Neville McSweeney
Most Improved Player                          Angus Sharp
The club is small, but very active, attending local tournaments, also hosting their own tournaments four times a season. The club meets at the hall in Waiau Pa on a Tuesday evening, and although now finished for the season, are always looking for new players. Anyone interested in a fun night out will be very welcome, and beginners to the sport are always welcome. Please phone Chairman, Diana Hamer on 09 232 1281, or secretary Mick Almond on 09 232 1933, and they will be sure to contact you when the season reopens in April next year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *