Nick’s Cafe the people’s choice

The people of Franklin have spoken.

For the second time running, Nick’s Cafe in Waiuku has been named as the winner of the People’s Choice for the Auckland Region, as part of the 2018 Meadow Fresh New Zealand Café of the Year awards.

Determined by customer votes, the People’s Choice Regional Awards recognise the most popular café in six regions across New Zealand.

The national winner of the National People’s Choice Award will be announced at an event held in Auckland, February 2018.

The accolade has been described by owner, Nick King, as ‘massive.’

“It goes to show that the support from small local towns like ours is enough to push the city cafe’s out of the running. Now that is saying something.”

It was said by the competition organisers that Nick treats his customers as if they were long time friends, with the driving force behind the café’s popularity being hospitality, value for money, generous portions and quality.

Nick still stands behind his mantra of ‘buy local, shop local, support local.’

“When you establish yourself in a small community like ours, you need to be focused on their demands and requirements. This award proves the saying ‘the more you give, the more you get back.’”

Nick’s Cafe is approaching its sixth birthday, and Nick says that he sincerely thanks the community for their support in what can be a difficult market.

“Longevity in the trade can be extremely challenging. This award validates us in so many ways; for me as a businessman, and for us as a community focused business.”

Nick also states that his staff need to be recognised for their tireless work.

“I’m so pedantic, and they put up with me and my ‘needy’ controls,” he joked.

Nick says he can’t wait for the results at grand final event in February.

“It is a shame that we have to wait so long, as I am really looking forward to seeing how we stack up against the rest of New Zealand. Fingers crossed for some good results.”

The team behind the award winning, Nick’s Cafe, from left: Kirsty Lillis, Beka Riley, Nick King and Mayu Mimaki.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *