Junior Counties players celebrated

The 2017 Counties Manukau Football Union junior awards were held at ECOLight Stadium, last night, Thursday 19 October.

Sam Furniss and Liam Daniela from the Counties Manukau PIC Steelers attended the evening as guests to present the awards.

Thank you to everyone who attended and congratulations to all of our award winners!

Below is a list of the 2017 CMRFU junior award winners –

Roller Mills –

  • Player of the year – Brock Wheatley (Te Hihi School)
  • Most improved player – Karl Poto (Tuakau College)

Under 16 –

  • Player of the year – Larenz Tupaea – Thomsen (Wesley College)
  • Most improved player – Khyia Bovill (Onewhero Area School)

Under 18 Girls –

  • Player of the year – Ocean Tierney (Wesley College)
  • Most improved player – Aleighya Finau (Alfriston College)

Sam Furniss and Khyia Bovill


Since you’re here… we have a small favour to ask. More and more people want the Post than ever but advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. And unlike many news organisations, we haven’t put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as open as we can. So you can see why we need to ask for your help. The Post’s independent, investigative journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce. With investigative reporting, we often don't know at the beginning how a story will unfold and how long it might take to uncover. This can mean it is costly – particularly as we often face legal threats that attempt to stop our reporting. But we remain committed to raising important questions and exposing wrongdoing. And we do it because we believe our perspective matters – because it might well be your perspective, too. If everyone who reads our reporting, who likes it, helps to support it, our future would be much more secure. For as little as NZ$5, you can support the Post – and it only takes a minute. Thank you. Support The Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *