Bowls Results

Buckland Bowling Club Results

On 6th January, the always popular Pairs Medley Tournament was held with the field of 26 teams enjoying a very warm and sunny day. The medley consisted of 1 game each of Australian Pairs, 4 bowl pairs, Hong Kong pairs and 3 bowl pairs. The event was sponsored by Signmax, Optik Eyecare and Birch Surveyors. The field was complemented by the recently decided Counties Manukau Men’s Pairs Champions, however, the competition from the other teams was such that the Champs, Buckland Pair Jim Ballard and Chris Bull were only able to manage 4th place with 3 and half wins and 22 ends. In 3rd place was one of the 3 four game winners in Roy Hopping and Eric Gillott from Waipipi. 2nd place was earned by the Pukekohe pairing of Sean Pennell and Alan Gibbons with 4 wins and 29 ends who were just pipped for first place with 4 wins and 30 ends by a composite team of Frank Hallinan (Buckland) and Don Shand (Mt. Maunganui).

Karaka Bowling Club results

At last we are experiencing some lovely settled weather and thanks to our great green keeper Haggis Maguiness and his advisor Brent Baber the green is looking and playing beautifully.
This month we have had 2 Open Tournaments, The Horti Centre Noel Dunning Memorial Day on the 4th December and the Summerset Retirement Village Xmas Ham Open on the 19th December. Noel Dunning was a former member of the club until his passing some 24 years ago and from all accounts was one of the best bowlers in the Counties region. Ironically the Noel Dunning Day was won by a team lead by Noels widow Joyce which was a great thrill. Results Noel Dunning Day. 1st. Papakura team of. Joyce Dunning, Natasha Grimshaw, Margaret Davies, Sandra Gordon. 2nd. Pukekohe team of. Bruce Robinson, Barry Williams, Chris Walker, Len Corney. 3rd. Patumahoe team of. Shirley Furnis, Sheila Fauset, Ewen Mc- Intyre, Barry Smith. Results Summerset Day. 1st. Karaka team of. Don Kirkbride, Eric Maloney, John Waters. 2nd. Karaka Team of. Don Parker, Peter Moulden, Graham Barber. 3rd. Papakura team of. Robert Woodbridge, Bruce Bougen,
Mike Martinovich. A couple of other local club championships have now been completed this month. Results as follows. Championship Singles. Winner Don Kirkbride, runner up John Waters. 1 – 5 year pairs. Winners Andrew Marshall, Graham Barber, runners up Dick Power, Les Gubb. New Bowlers welcome.

Waiuku bowling club results

New Year Open Tournament, won by the Waiuku Auto Services Waiuku team: S Compston, B Swain, R Williams; Second D Shand, G Tunley; Third, Pukekohe W Sauri. TWILIGHT BOWLS – Waiuku Bowling Club Social Play, to be held on Friday, February 12, at 6pm. Casual shoe wear and bowls available. Will continue weekly on Friday evenings during daylight saving. All welcome.

Waiuku bowling club results

The fifth tournament of the Bill Osborne Memorial series was played on Thursday, January 14. It was a hot summer’s day which had players seeking shelter and frequent cups of water.
Sponsors for the day who helped supply meat packs for the winner’s prizes and raffles prizes were Optik Eyecare, from Pukekohe.
The winners were Waiuku, Andrea Williams, Marama Onehi and Ken Graze; Second: Dominators, Don Kirkbride, Don Cameron and Andrew Marshall; Third: The 3 Amigos, Andrienne Tilyard, Peter Ballard and Leeane Poulson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *