The Karaka Bowling Club monthly Open Tournament was held on Friday 7 April. The winners were: Chris Walker, Ken Micelson, Len Corney from Pukekohe. Second was Mike Stone, Mike Wenzlick, Peter Lawn from Buckland. Third was Paul Miller, Shirley Furniss, Alan Ferguson from Waiuku.
The best Karaka team consisted of Jack Kayes, Peter Meadowcroft, Ian Harvey/Bill Dunbar.
The Furniss Trophy, which was played on Monday 27 March between Karaka, Waipipi, Patumahoe and Clarks Beach, was won by Waipipi with ten wins out of 12 games from Karaka in second place.
Congratulations to Karaka members Don Kirkbride and Andrew Marshall who won the Counties over 60s Champion of Champion pairs.
The club over 60s Singles Championship was completed recently, which was won by Graham Barber, with runner up Don Parker.
The Charles Cup played for by leads and 2s was won by Denis Currie from Bob Price.