The McNamara Cup is the Counties Manukau premier competition, with 10 teams from across the region battling for the top spot.
This year, three-time defending champions Bombay will be hoping to claim their fourth straight Cup title. 
The competition was off to a wet start earlier this month, with a record amount of rainfall in the 24 hours leading up to kick-off. However, the weather cleared up for round two. 
Round one kicked off on Saturday 11 March. Bombay, Ardmore Marist, Patumahoe, Pukekohe and Waiuku were all triumphant in their respective matches. 
Round two, however tipped the tables, with Karaka upsetting Bombay, by putting 56 points on the board to Bombay's 3, a change from their 41 -0 win over Onewhero the week before. The other results showed that there would be more game-changers to come in this competition. 
The next round on Saturday 25 March is expected to be another thrilling round as the teams continue to go head to head. 
This season has also brought some celebrations, with Kalolo Tuiloma and Coree Te Whata-Colley celebrating 50 premier games for Bombay on 11 March. 
Willy Furniss from Patumahoe held the Counties Power Cup and the Tresco Cup after Patumahoe won over Pukekohe in round two. 
Onewhero kept a firm grasp on the golden gumboot when playing against Te Kauwhata. Zac Wooten scored two tries, securing their 36-19 victory. 
Keep an eye out for the teams featured in the Counties Power Game of the Week. This is an initiative by CMRFU and Counties Power and allows each club to be featured throughout the competition. 
Previous McNamara Cup winners:
2008- Ardmore Marist
2009- Patumahoe
2010- Waiuku
2011- Pukekohe
2012- Patumahoe
2013- Ardmore Marist
2014- Bombay
2015- Bombay
2016- Bombay
Run down on teams and players for the 2017 McNamara Cup: 
Ardmore Marist's loose forward Sione Tuipulotu has been training with the All Blacks U20 squad. With a list of achievements including captain of Counties Manukau U19 and representing Tonga and Samoa at the U20 Junior World Championship in 2015 and 2016, the former Wesley College student is set to shine in this year's competition. Sione will also be vying for a spot in the NZ U20 Junior World Cup side later in the year. First-five Solomona Paraki and prop Sesimani Tupou who played for Northland in 2016's Mitre 10 Cup will also be playing for Ardmore- Marist. 
2016 saw Kane Hancy score a try in his 100th game for Patumahoe. Fotu Lokotui will also be returning to the team after being injured while playing for the Steelers last year. 
Pukekohe's Cam Skelton is a player to watch this year, having played for the Steelers last year and also previously playing for Samoa in the U20's the 22 year old is expected to lead by example this season. 
Waiuku will be looking to keep their young side fit and uninjured this season. Last year saw the premier side plagued with 15 season-ending injuries. After two rounds, there have been no season-ending injuries. 
Bombay are well known for their strength in the forward pack. Head coach Jeff Marr says this year the backs will also be complimenting the team.
Papakura have a goal this season to finish in the top eight of this year's competition. Coach Gavin Giles says Dylan Watters and Shirley Halasima were two players to watch.
Te Kauwhata left round two empty handed losing to Onewhero in the golden gumboot trophy for the third year. The small club will be the underdogs of the competition.
Onewhero get to keep the golden gumboot trophy for another year. While they experienced an intense pre-season, they will be focusing on making the play-offs.
Orbyn Leger will be playing for Karaka when not playing for the NZ U20's. A number of former Steelers players are also in Karaka's squad this year. 
Manurewa  will be looking to continue their success of the second round where they dominated Papakura 59-7. Steelers prop Sam Aiono has transferred to Manurewa from Bombay, while four of their players have been scooped up by the Chief's development squad. 
Current standings
Ardmore Marist South Auckland Motors are sitting at first place on 10 points, followed by Patumahoe on 9, Karaka and Waiuku on 6, Manurewa, Pukekohe, Bombay and Onewhero on 5 and Te Kauwhata and Papakura bottom of the table with 0 points, after the second round of play. 
There are 18 rounds before semi-finals and finals. The competition ends with finals being played on Saturday 22 July. 
Make sure you get out to support your home teams throughout the season. Counties Manukau Rugby say thanks to all the players, coaches, volunteers, administration staff, supporters, sponsors and family and friends of club rugby.