Pukekohe swimmers are medalists

Pukekohe Swimming Club sent a team of 26 Junior swimmers to the Harlequins Zone Swimming Championships, and returned with great results.

Held in the West Wave pool in Henderson from 17 to the 19 February, the Harlequins zone comprises of swimmers from Auckland, Counties Manukau and Northland. This was the largest team of Junior swimmers that Pukekohe Swimming club had ever had qualify for a New Zealand event, and the swimmers performed outstandingly.

The team collected 18 medals between them, with ten Gold, five Silver and three Bronze medals being won. They finished in seventh place overall in the Club Points competition. However, the most important thing for coaches was to see how the swimmers performed in big events. They were jubilant with the fact that personal best times were swum by the team in 78 percent of their races.

Swimmers who achieved personal best times in all their races were Abbie Gibson, Charlotte Hyland-Mills, Grace Perham, Amelia De lautour and Eliot Williams.

Top female performer was 11 year old Janaye Burns. She competed in ten individual races, won seven Gold medals and two Silver medals. She swam personal best times in nine of her races and broke three Counties records.

Top male swimmer for the club was 12 year old Thomas Murray. He also competed in ten individual events and won two Gold, one Silver and three Bronze medals. He also had nine personal best times.

Other individual medalists were Zahn Cooney who swam a brilliant race and won Gold in the 11 year old boys 100m butterfly, and Darnika Howe who also swam wonderfully and collected a silver medal in the ten year old Girls 50m Breaststroke. The Freestyle Relay team of Janaye Burns, Thomas Murray, Amelia de Lautour and Zeal Jones also won a Silver medal.

Coaches Jim Ruiterman and Maki Jones were extremely proud of their swimmers and amazed at how well they performed under the pressure of such a big event.

The coaches also recognised the team managers and parents, who helped ensured the event ran smoothly and who looked after and encouraged the swimmers to achieve their goals.

The team that represented Pukekohe Swimming Club at the  Harlequins Zone Swimming Championships.

Pukekohe Swimming Club medalists, from left:  Zahn Cooney, Zeal Jones, Janaye Burns, Thomas Murray, Amelia de Lautour and Darnika Howe.