New Chair for Franklin Local Board
Angela Fulljames has been elected chair of the Franklin Local Board—the first female to lead the board in its six year history.
The recently elected board members were officially sworn in to office at an inauguration ceremony in Pukekohe on Wednesday October 26.
Andy Baker was appointed Deputy Chair.  Mr Baker has been chair of the local board for the past two terms.
Mrs Fulljames, who has represented the Wairoa division since 2013, says it is an honour to be elected chair.
“I am really looking forward to the next three years. Franklin is riding a wave of change, including significant population growth which brings both opportunity and challenges,” says the Clevedon resident.
She says the board is focused on getting Franklin the soft and hard infrastructure it needs to allow communities to thrive.
“We will also work with our community, from Awhitu to Maraetai and in between, to gain a greater understanding of their needs and to help their communities prosper."
She is also delighted with the mix of new faces and experienced politicians on the new board, welcoming the first-time board members Niko Kloeten, Amanda Hopkins and Sharlene Druyven.
The board agreed that its first local board meeting for the term will be Tuesday November 22, at 9.30am at the Franklin Local Board office.
Franklin Local Board for the 2016-2019 term is: Angela Fulljames (chair), Amanda Hopkins, Malcolm Bell (Wairoa subdivision), Andy Baker (deputy chair), Alan Cole, Niko Kloeten, Murray Kay (Pukekohe subdivision), Sharlene Druyven, Brendon Crompton (Waiuku subdivision).